So many books! So little time. Check out the 2010 Newbery Medal winners.

Where’s a Book Mama supposed to start when it comes to recommending some of the best books out there for our book babies?  I suppose the obvious place to begin is the annual Newbery Award winning books.

You’ve probably noticed the prestigious gold seal on the cover of past Newbery award winners when you were browsing the children’s section of your favorite bookstore, but did you know that the John Newbery Medal has been around since 1922?   It’s awarded by the Associatioin of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association (ALA).  The smarty-pants bookworms at the ALA award the Newbery Medal to the most distinguished contributions to American literature for children, so you can be pretty sure the books are all top-notch.

If you ask me, Mr. John Newbery, an 18th century English publisher of juvenile literature, might be considered one of the original Book Daddies!

If you’ve been searching high and low for something to get the little darlings reading this summer, take a peek at the 2010 Newbery Award winner and the honors books.

2010 Newbery Honors:

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice” by Phillip M. Hoose

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate” by Jacqueline Kelly

“Where the Mountain Meets the Moon” by Grace Lin

“Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg” by Rodman Philbrick

Drum roll please!

Ladies and Gentleman, the 2010 Newbery Medal goes to…

“When You Reach Me” by Rebecca Stead.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: